Having to register yourself as a sex offender is a harsh condition to live by. Anyone who had been convicted of a California sex crime, must register with the police of the city or county of their respective area. The registration must be renewed within 5 working days of the person’s birthday and when he moves into a residency. Having to register is a shameful experience. It can lead to ridicule, isolation from others, and possibly physical violence. If you purposely chose not to register, you can be charged with failing to register as a sex offender.
Punishments for Failure to register as a Sex Offender
Possible punishments can make it more difficult for you to become living a normal life again. Some restrictions and punishments imposed on you if you fail to register as a sex offender can include up to 1 year in jail if your crime was a misdemeanor. Up to 3 years in prison can be given if your crime was a felony, or if this was your second time failing to register.It is important to know that failure to register as a sex offender can count under California’s three strikes law depending on the situation. Under the three strikes law, you are given 25 years to life in prison.
Defending against Failure to Register as a Sex Offender
Most the defenses against Failure to Register as a Sex Offender depends a lot on human error.
If you have a language barrier and have difficulty understanding that you were required to register, then it has a possibility to convince a judge that you didn’t know. Medical conditions that cause loss of memory or information can also fall under this category. This will not work as an excuse to not go if you were registering every year prior.
Attempt at registering or updating information, but the data did not get through can be a possible outcome as well. This is because since there was no purposeful intention to avoid registration and because of that
Having an attorney that will listen and pay attention to the situation can help reduce hardships of registration.
A Prostitution Ticket in California is a serious offense. It is not just a ticket as it seems. A Prostitution Ticket in California is the equivalent of a misdeameanor and will show up on a person’s criminal record and background check. It’s important that this is taken care of immediately. There are several ways a person can get a Prostitution Ticket in California.
In the court system when a person is picked up for a Prostitution Ticket in California they are called Johns. This can happen a number of ways.
1)Massages. There are police stings out there masquerading as massage parlors. In addition to that, there are many police officers on Craigslist providing services. These services are services that are offering massages for very cheap. There is a joke in the criminal defense circle that there are more cops on Craigslist then there are regular people. The bottom line is that it is very easy to pick up a Prostitution Ticket in California by using Craigslist.
2)Picking up a girl on the street.
These are one of the more easy ways to a Prostitution Ticket in California. The trouble comes when a person gets to a spot and starts taking care of business as opposed to when the actual transaction will occur. For example, John will pick up a girl on the corner of Beach and Ball and they drive to a corner. John and the girl already took care of the business transaction but before they start doing the deed, a police officer will show up and start citing them for being around the park at night. The officer will suspect the girl because he has run into her before and start illiciting incriminating information from her. If this happens then it will make the case against John and John will end up getting a Prostitution Ticket in California.