Category Archives for Drugs

California Marijuana Laws

California Marijuana Laws

California is one of the 12 states that legalized marijuana for medical use. However the actual use outside of medical purposesmarijuana is still illegal in California. And the act of selling or even holding the marijuana for selling is still a serious crime. Also some crimes such as cultivating or possession allows for drug diversion programs.

Possession

 

Possessing marijuana for personal use is a crime. If you have it but weighs less than 28.35 grams (about an ounce) it is just an infraction. That comes with a $100 fine with no jail time. If you have more than 28.35 grams for personal use then you are in for a misdemeanor with 6 months in jail and up to a $500 fine. The crimes that fall under this include holding more than said amount. Possessing marijuana on school grounds (kindergarten through high school). Or Possessing concentrated cannabis. If you are 18 or older on school campus then it is a misdemeanor with 10 days in jail and a $500 fine. If you were under 18 on school grounds its a $250 fine. A second time is 10 day in juvenile detention and a $500 fine. If you own concentrated cannabis then it can be either a misdemeanor or a felony. as a misdemeanor it can be up to a year in jail with a $500 fine or up to 3 years in jail.

Cultivating Marijuana

Unless you are a legal medical marijuana patient, or a caregiver. It is illegal to handle marijuana plants. This can include planting, cultivating, harvesting, drying or processing. It is a straight felony. For a first offense you can see up to 3 years in jail.

Possession to sell

Some signs that shows intent to sell include. A large amount of marijuana. Baggies and scales. Pot divided into multiple sections. Cash or weapons and the officer’s opinion. It is a felony that comes with up to 3 years in jail.

Selling/Transporting

Less than an ounce is punished by a $100 fine. Anything else is a felony that is punishable by up to 3 year sin jail. If sold to a minor under 14 then you can see 7 years in prison. If over 14 but under 18 then it is 5 years.

If you were charged with a marijuana drug law, come see a lawyer. Its crucial to know what happens to you and what you can do.