California laws about PCP
PCP also known as angel dust, is a Schedule II drug. A schedule II drug means that it has a high potential for abuse, has limited medical use, and that abusing the drug may lead to psychological and/or physical dependence. PCP back then was never approved for human use in 1950. However that does not stop its use. Depending on the dosage and how you intake the drug these are some of the common effects. It can be a stimulant (such as caffeine but on a much stronger level) which speeds up mental/physical abilities. A depressant (like marijuana) that slows down mental/physical abilities. A pain killer, or it can be a hallucinogen. The effects of PCP can take place within a few minutes to an hour. Its effects can last from 11 hours to a little longer than 2 days. Unfortunately with PCP comes dangerous side effects. Some of the effects include paranoia, hallucination and depression are just some of them.
Use of PCP
Possessing PCP without a prescription goes against California’s health ans safety code. However just because you have a prescription does not allow you to just use it without responsibility. You must use the drug correctly as prescribed. Possessing PCP can be charged as either a misdemeanor or felony depending on the case and your criminal history. as a misdemeanor you up to a year in jail and up to a $1000 fine. As a felony you can see up to 3 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine. If you were charged of being under the influence of PCP then it will be a misdemeanor. You can see up to a year in jail. There is a drug diversion program available for both of these crimes. Drug diversion will dismiss your PCP charges if you complete it.
If you were convicted of a drug crime consult with an attorney. Drug laws have many ways to go around it, it just takes action.